Sign up for PM Award Updates!
Marcos Vizcarra, 29, reports for Noroeste whose founder, Javier Valdez, was assassinated in broad daylight last May.

Marcos Vizcarra, the 2017 winner of the Peter Mackler Award, is a journalist for the publication Noroeste in his native Sinaloa region of Mexico, which is widely viewed as one of the most dangerous places in the world to practice journalism. After the brutal, daylight murder of his colleague, Noroeste founder Javier Valdez, in the streets of Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mr. Vizcarra, 29, publicy called on the government to investigate and prosecute the killers. To date, no arrest has been made and Mr. Vizcarra’s repeated reporting and public denunciation of the government’s inaction, at great risk to himself, have made him an example for other journalists in the region to follow. He was awarded the 2017 Peter Mackler Award on October 26, 2017 at a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, DC. During a powerful and emotional speech , Vizcarra named the eleven Mexican journalists killed this year trying to report in the face of rampant corruption and violence.

Eloge Willy Kaneza receives the 2016 PM award on Oct. 13, 2016 in Washington DC. Photo: Thomas Hammond

Eloge Willy Kaneza is an intrepid radio reporter from Burundi who, despite the increased violence, continues to report on his country for Burundians and the outside world. “Not only does Eloge Kaneza embody the journalistic values the Peter Mackler Award seeks to honor, he and his colleagues have also found creative ways to push back on repression using online technologies,” said PMA Project Director Camille Mackler. Eloge Kaneza, who stayed home in Bujumbura after the failed 2015 coup, became the only public face and the essential local link for the online news network SOS Media Burundi. The network publishes local, verified information via Face Book and Twitter as well as on the music sharing site SoundCloud. The Award ceremony was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC on October 13th, and was followed by a panel discussion: Today's front lines: From pen and camera to iPhone and WhatsApp. Panelists were Malachy Browne (Senior Producer New York Times video,) Eloge Kaneza (2016 Peter Mackler award recipient,) and Scott Stearns (Managing editor of the Africa division at Voice of America,) with Louise Roug (contributing editor, Politico Europe) moderating.

Zaina Erhaim is the 2015 Peter Mackler Award winner. Ms Erhaim is a 30-year old Syrian journalist who lives and works in Aleppo, Syria. Over the last two years inside Syria, she has trained about 100 citizen reporters, approximately a third of them women, in print and TV journalism, and has helped establish many of the new emerging independent newspapers and magazines in the war torn country. “Zaina Erhaim is a force multiplier of journalistic values in a country torn by violence and irrationality,” said Camille Mackler. “We salute her courage, upholding professional ethics and bringing them to the service of those left to write history.” The Award ceremony was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC and was followed by a panel discussion on Syria, war reporting and the role of citizen journalists with McClatchy Newspapers' Hannah Allam, BuzzFeed News’ Miriam Elder, and Mashable’s Louise Roug.

Asma Shirazi is the 2014 winner of the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. Ms Shirazi is the host of an authoritative talk show on Pakistan’s Dawn News Television. Shirazi was Pakistan’s first female war correspondent. Undeterred by threats and personal risk, she has demonstrated courage, professionalism and dedication in the search for the truth. In her acceptance speech at the National Press Club in Washington DC, Shirazi spoke out against “brutality” against reporters in her country as she expressed hope for greater freedom for the news media. The Washington Post's Pamela Constable, in her keynote address, highlighted "It’s not easy to be a woman in Pakistan, or a journalist who is committed to seeking, speaking or writing the truth. It is especially hard to be both."

Faisal Mohamed Salih, reporter, editor, columnist and journalism teacher in Sudan, is the winner of the 2013 Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. The keynote speaker, Ambassador Princeton N. Lyman, was U.S. special envoy for Sudan and senior advisor on North-South negotiations. The award ceremony was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC, Thursday October 24th.

Lukpan Akhmedyarov has survived professional harassment, official censorship, and a murder attempt to press for human rights and independent journalism in Kazakhstan. In April, the 36-year-old vocal critic of the authoritarian central government was confronted outside his home in the northwestern city of Uralsk by several attackers and was clubbed about the head, stabbed and shot […]

Radio Progreso news editor Karla Rivas paid tribute Thursday to the 16 journalists killed in her native Honduras since a 2009 military coup as she received the Peter Mackler Award for courageous and ethical journalism. The 33-year-old Rivas — the first woman to receive the award named for an Agence France-Presse (AFP) reporter and editor who died […]

Global Media Forum and the US branch of Reporters Without Borders are pleased to announce that Russian journalist Ilya Barabanov, targeted by his government for exposing official corruption, has been selected as the 2010 winner of the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. Barabanov will be awarded the prize at a ceremony at […]

Sri Lanka’s J.S. Tissainayagam was awarded the first Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism at a ceremony held on October 2, 2009 at the National Press Club in Washington D.C. “J.S. Tissainayagam is a courageous man and he strove to bring a measure of accountability and truth to a county that was devastated by civil […]

Camille J. Mackler
Project Director, Peter Mackler Award
Global Media Forum Training Group
Tel: +1-917-655-3548

Peter Mackler Award In The News click here; click here;
-Voice of America: click here;
-Christian Science Monitor (USA): click here;
-The Washington Times (USA): click here;